Hockey from a Different Perspective

For those who love hockey cannot simply understand how someone would not like the sport. 

But there are a lot of people who do not enjoy the sport of ice hockey.

So, here is an interview with Chicago native, Katie Chamber. Katie says she does not particularly like the sport of hockey.

We hockey fans want to know why.

What do you know about hockey?

I don’t feel like I know too much about it. It’s not sport where you actively play in really when you’re a kid or hear about it because it’s a club sport. It’s expensive to play, so it really isn’t a, I don’t want to say common, but not as popular as other sports.

What are your first thoughts when you think of hockey?

It’s all Canadian people. But I think of big burley guys who are more rugged men. It is a very white male dominated sport. You see NBA rags to riches, but not in hockey, it’s a club sport so you really don’t have that in it.

Why don’t you like the sport?

I don’t know much about it so it kind of loses my interest.

Like I said earlier, I don’t understand much about the game, which is why I think I don’t like it too much…At one time I thought a hat trick was a fancy move, until someone told me it’s getting three goals in a game…There is just a lot to know, and most of it, to me at least, is confusing, especially because I never grew up with hockey being a regular sport in my life.

How many games would you say you have watched?

A decent amount, I’ve also been to a few games at the United Center. I like going to the games, it’s always fun to do stuff like that, but that’s with any sport, whether it’s hockey or basketball, going to games is always entertaining.

Is there anything about hockey that you do like? Hot men. I like the fighting and that it’s a contact sport, that gets my interests. I really like that it’s fast paced. I also really like 24/7. Youu get to know the people and players…. Usually you have no idea about a player, except that they play hockey. You don’t learn stuff in media that you do when watching 24/7. I think it’s funny that I enjoy that series so much without watching hockey on a regular basis.

What do you think the sport could add or take away to make it more enjoyable for people who do not like it?

If it were talked about more maybe I would care and understand more. More advertisments for it, to generate interest.

Do you think you could ever be a fan of hockey?

Yeah, maybe. But I would need to learn more about it first.

 

(this interview was condensed)

About Stefanie

I am currently a journalism major at Loyola University Chicago and blogging for my writing for the web class. I love hockey and want to be a sports journalist.

Leave a Reply

